The demand for cruelty-free and organic chocolate has encouraged many people to buy it. It is said that the demand would continue to increase as more people realize the importance of the ethical practices of farmers who cultivate the cocoa beans used to make chocolate. In fact, cocoa beans are one of the hardest commodities to harvest in the world, as it is so difficult to get rid of the cocoa pods. However, these problems can be solved by learning how to buy vegan chocolate. The process is actually quite simple and can be done at home without too much trouble.
Many people ask themselves, ‘What do I need to know if I want to buy vegan chocolate online?’ First, you will need to know what to look for on the labels of the products. All the well-known vegan and organic chocolate manufacturers will indicate on the label that their products are free of whey and eggs. Also, the chocolate manufacturing theory states that no milk should be used in the making of chocolate, hence whole foods should be used in its preparation.
There are many different milk derivatives that can be used in the making of chocolate. These include coconut milk, almond milk and soy milk derivatives. In general, the best vegan milk chocolate bar contains cacao butter that is from an organic cacao bean. Other milk derivatives will sometimes have a slight bitter taste.
Other things to consider when looking to buy vegan chocolates online include what the ingredients are comprised of. The most important thing to note is that all ingredients used in making these products are organic and free of any gluten or whey. Gluten and whey are common allergens and are not healthy for those with certain types of allergies. Therefore, they will not typically be found in organic dark chocolates.
Other ingredients that you should look for on a website that is designed for vegan friendly food choices include ingredients such as sugar and artificial coloring. While both are common in regular candy bars, they are not always vegan friendly. When you shop for a vegan friendly bar or online site, you should focus on the cacao powders, flavoring and baking cocoa as these are the items that are derived from cacao beans. These can be combined with sugar and other milk derivatives that are derived from coconut sources to create the best vegan friendly bars.
Many websites and companies will list ingredients that may not be included on the list of ingredients. The more information that you have about the cacao powder, the milk derivatives and other items, the easier it will be for you to make a purchase decision. For example, many milk chocolate alternatives use organic cacao powder that is blended with vegetable fat. This makes it less environmentally friendly for you and the planet. In contrast, cacao powder from cacao beans grown without the use of chemicals is considered completely organic.
If you want to buy a vegan friendly bar or online site, make sure that you read the ingredients list. You should avoid foods that have any dairy, egg, gluten, soy or wheat ingredients. Many brands of vegan chocolate bars and other sweetened products use soy and whey protein as their main ingredients. This is because the shelf life of the products created using these ingredients does not get very long and they have the same effect of giving you a delicious treat.
If you have any questions about whether a product is vegan friendly, check the list of ingredients first. It will be more than sufficient for you to determine whether or not it is safe for you to eat. In addition, if you cannot find the ingredients list on a website or bar, look for the words “all-natural” or “dairy-free”. Also, remember that most dark chocolate bars and cocoa drinks are naturally sweetened with honey, agave nectar or maple syrup.
Internal Link – Optialworlds